The Alchemical Mandala

July 31, 2008
By Dennis Klocek 1 min read

The charts for the alchemical journey of self transformation often take the form of a mandala or sacred wheel. This is because the sacred journey never ends. It also usually brings you back to where you started but the second time around you know where you have been. The mandala is a dynamic map of the stages of development necessary for transforming ourselves.

The most basic mandala form is the four step diagram known to adepts as the rotation of the elements. There are four stages. Earth (E) is followed by water (W) followed by air (A) followed by fire (F). Then we come back to earth. This pattern follows the laws of nature where earth is on the bottom with water above that and air above that and fire above that.

When an alchemist starts to work on him / herself this beginning stage is known as putting the fire under the earth. When putting the fire under the earth the alchemist is working against the natural order of things or working against nature. To cook a meal is working against nature according to alchemy. To cook my beliefs about myself is to change my unconscious patterns in my life that are not working for me. Changing my unconscious patterns is also a work against nature. In this important work I learn to overcome the things that are holding me back from reaching my goals in life.


Dennis Klocek

Dennis Klocek, MFA, is co-founder of the Coros Institute, an internationally renowned lecturer, and teacher. He is the author of nine books, including the newly released Colors of the Soul; Esoteric Physiology and also Sacred Agriculture: The Alchemy of Biodynamics. He regularly shares his alchemical, spiritual, and scientific insights at

Leave a Comment

Similar Writings

Thursday of Holy Week

By Dennis Klocek | March 24, 2024
Posted in , , , , ,

On Thursday, they go to celebrate the Passover. They rent a room. Reading from the John gospel… “Jesus knew the hour had come for Him to leave this world and go to his Father…” When Judas decided to act, and Mary Magdalene anointed Jesus for his burial, that was the beginning of the Passion. At…

Soul Qualities of the 12 Personality Archetypes

By Dennis Klocek | September 5, 2022
Posted in , , , ,

In Part 6 of our Soul Course, Dennis shows us how how to use the twelve personality archetypes to begin to see into the biographical stories of people in our lives. The soul dynamics of control in each archetype will be explored through the Artist/Agent and Activist/Hermet polarities. Understanding these dynamics allows us to heal…